McCracken County Information
McCracken County Information

McCracken County


McCracken County, the 78th county in order of formation, is located in the Jackson Purchase region of the state on the Ohio and Tennessee rivers and is bordered by Ballard, Graves, Livingston, and Marshall counties. The county was originally part of Hickman County, on land purchased from the Chickasaw in 1818. As soon as population warranted, the territory was devided into Hickman, Graves, Calloway and McCracken counties. McCracken County was formed on January 15, 1825, and was named in honor of Captain Virgil McCracken who was an officer in the War of 1812 and killed at the Battle of the River Raisin on January 22, 1813. Its county seat is Paducah, Kentucky.

Other Information:

Population (2010): 65,565

Land Area: 251.02 Square Miles

Water Area: 17.05 Square Miles

Population Density: 261.19 people per square mile

Cost of Living Index: 82.5 (low, U.S. average is 100)



Judge Executive Office




Judge Executive

Bob Leeper

300 South Seventh Street

Paducah, KY 42001




Phone: (270) 444-4707

Fax: (270) 444-4731

Send Email Email:

Office Hours

8:30 AM - 4:30 PM Central Time


Fiscal Court Meetings

2nd and 4th Monday at 6:00 PM


County Clerk:





City of Paducah





Gayle Kaler


300 South 5th Street

Paducah, KY 42002

Phone Number:

(270) 444-8506

Fax Number:

(270) 443-5058



City Council Meetings:

2nd + 4th Tuesday at 5:30 PM





External Links for more Statistical Information




Think Kentucky Education County Profile

Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education

McCracken County School District





Page last updated on Thu, 26 Mar 2015 09:25:00 GMT.