Jackson Purchase Area Information
Jackson Purchase Area Information

The Jackson Purchase is a region in the state of Kentucky bounded by the Mississippi River to the west, the Ohio River to the north, and Tennessee River to the east. Although technically part of Kentucky at its statehood in 1792, the land did not come under definitive U.S. control until 1818, when Andrew Jackson and Isaac Shelby purchased it from the Chickasaw Indians. Kentuckians generally call this region the Purchase.

The Purchase comprises eight counties with a combined land area of 2,394.8 square miles (6,202.5 km²), or about 6.03 percent of the state's land area. Its 2010 census population was 196,393 inhabitants, or about 4.53 percent of the state's population. The largest city and main economic center, Paducah, has fewer than 30,000 residents. Only two other towns in the region, Murray and Mayfield, have more than 10,000 residents each.

Land Area: 2,394.79 Square Miles

Water Area: 136.95 Square Miles

Population Density: 82.01 people per square mile

Cost of Living Index in Purchase Area: 77 (low, U.S. average is 100)




Page last updated on Tue, 08 Dec 2015 12:36:00 GMT.